Click to Expand
Milk, a natural liquid growth serum that we’ve been subjected to since our foundation years – is an excellent source of sustenance. For the lactose-intolerant, here’s a run down on the ‘udderly’ fascinating nutrient facts. Click to find out more.
Gelatine sheets or Gelatine powder is mainly made up of collagen found in animal’s skin and bones such as pigs, beef and fish. It acts as a gelling agent and is often used in desserts such as panna cotta, custards and jellies.
Because of the components in gelatine, they are not suitable for vegetarians and vegans. But fear not, here’s one alternative that can produce the same tasty desserts with similar effects!
Agar is the most common vegan alternative for gelatine and it is used frequently in Asian desserts such as ‘kuehs’ (traditional Southeast Asian cakes) and fruit jellies. They are extracted from a particular seaweed and comes in either flakes, powder or dried sheets like gelatine.
Besides the same use as gelatine, agar agar aids in digestion and are commonly used in fitness diets as it contains high content of fibre.
Talk about eating without having to feel guilty! Here is our fluffy strawberry marshmallow recipe using agar powder:
12.5g agar powder
90ml strawberry puree
500g corn starch, 500g icing sugar
We hope you’re all ready to test out this chewy goodness!
Click to Expand
The average Jane and Joe may be familiar with flour as being a white, pristine and powdery ingredient. In actual fact, there’s are countless types of flour that yield a variety of baked goods. If you’re taking the first step to be the next great baker, click to find out more about flour.